Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide
We are glad to see you are interested in our Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide program. A visit with Enrollment Services is a great way to get your questions answered. Attend a Tuesday virtual information session, a Wednesday in-person information session or schedule a one-on-one video chat appointment today.
Info Session RSVP
The Anoka Technical College Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide certificate is a five-credit course that introduces concepts of basic human needs, basic nursing and personal care skills, mental health and social needs, restorative services, resident’s rights and home health.
The skills are performed in a supervised laboratory and long term care clinical setting. The course meets the requirements of the federal government and the Minnesota Board of Nursing.
Upon completion of the competency evaluation, students can be employed in a long-term care facility, hospital or home health agency.
The Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide class is offered at two locations:
- Anoka Technical College, and
- Wright Technical Center (1405, 3rd Ave NE, Buffalo, MN)
Please see Course Schedule for upcoming dates and times.
USDE Professional Licensure Disclosure
Successful completion of the Anoka Technical College Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide certificate program at the will meet the requirements for certification in the Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide field. Certification is required by Minnesota as well as by some states to acquire a state license for employment as a certified/licensed Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide.
Federal regulations require that these training programs consist of at least 75 hours of training, including at least 16 hours of supervised practical or clinical training. Minnesota requires this minimum. States that require the same training hours and practical/clinical hours we determined our programs met the requirements for licensure in those states. If a state required more our programs did not meet the requirements. Additional requirements such as state-specific examinations, background checks, fees, additional training, experience and coursework, etc. may apply. Nevada and New Mexico are missing the number of required practical/clinical hours so a determination cannot be made on whether our program meets the licensure requirements in these two states. https://phinational.org/advocacy/nurse-aide-training-requirements-state-2016/
Nursing Assistant Training Requirements by State
For questions, please contact Teresa Dill.
Minnesota Law requires that any person who provides services that involve direct contact with patients and residents at a health care facility licensed by the Minnesota Department of Health have a background study conducted by the state. An individual who is disqualified from having direct patient contact as a result of the background study, and whose disqualification is not set aside by the Commissioner of Health, will not be permitted to participate in a clinical placement in a Minnesota licensed health care facility. The college will withdraw any student who is disqualified by the Minnesota Department of Health. The student is responsible for requesting the Commissioner to reconsider the disqualification.
Books and Supplies
- Nursing assistant book and skills packet available through the Anoka Technical College bookstore.
- Student photo ID card.
- Black uniforms for the clinical training sites.
- Watch with a second hand and a box of non-latex exam gloves.
All Anoka Technical College students seeking an Associate in Applied Science (AAS), diploma, or certificate must meet the cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 or higher.
Upon completion of the competency evaluation, a student can be employed in a long term care facility, hospital, home health agency or assisted living facility.
Note from the Minnesota Department of Health regarding reimbursable expenses: Nursing assistants who pay for the cost of their training and testing prior to employment are eligible for reimbursement. The nursing assistant has one (1) year from completion of the test to turn in receipts requesting reimbursement. The facility has 90 days to reimburse the nursing assistant. If the nursing assistant does not remain employed as a nursing assistant for 90 days, the nursing home is under no obligation to reimburse the nursing assistant. The first nursing home the nursing assistant stays at for at least 90 days would then be responsible to reimburse the nursing assistant if it has been one year or less since completion of the test. Only certified nursing homes or boarding care homes are required to reimburse a nursing assistant.
Days/Evenings (class, lab, clinical)
Fall Semester: August
Spring Semester: January
Summer Semester: May