Masks are required indoors in campus buildings....

College holds induction ceremony for honors students

Anoka Technical College held an induction ceremony on March 26, 2015 for new student members joining the honors society of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK).

Guest speakers at the event: Kent Hanson, Anoka Technical College President; Jacqueline Groves, a former Student Chapter President of PTK; Jahlaynah Cici, college Biology Lab Assistant and PTK Advisor; Karen Bronshteyn, College Librarian and PTK Advisor; Stephanie Saagerson, Student Chapter Public Relations Secretary; and Jacquelyn Keocher, Student Chapter President of PTK.  Keocher and distinguished chapter member Tonya Mages received recognition of their designation on the All-Minnesota Academic Team.  Dennis Westman photographed the event.   

“These students deserve recognition for achieving a grade point average of 3.5 or higher,” said Karen Bronshteyn, PTK Advisor and college Librarian.  “Phi Theta Kappa provides them with leadership and growth opportunities.  This ceremony allows for their loved ones to share the moment with them as they receive this honor.”

Phi Theta Kappa is an international organization for two-year colleges. It provides leadership training and opportunities, encourages scholarship and service learning, and facilitates access to college tuition scholarship opportunities. 

For more information about Anoka Technical College, visit


In late March, Anoka Technical College held an induction ceremony for new student members of the honors society of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK). From left (back row): Shirley Wehland, Angela Rowe, Jennifer Crill, Sarah Johnson, Ken Kewatt, (front row):  Catherine Lemke, Wang Moua, Amy Schendel, Caroline Dehn, Lynda Lindenfelser. Photo credit:  Dennis Westman

Read More News