Masks are required indoors in campus buildings....

Phi Theta Kappa to honor President Kent Hanson with Shirley B. Gordon Award

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) will honor Dr. Kent Hanson, President of Anoka-Ramsey Community College, with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction in April.

Hanson is among one of 35 college presidents who will be recognized during PTK Catalyst 2018, the society’s annual convention, held April 19-21 in Kansas City, Missouri. These awards honor college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding effort toward promoting the goals of PTK, which include recognizing academic achievement and providing college students with opportunities to grow as scholars and leaders.

The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the PTK Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College in Des Moines, Washington.

In addition to Anoka-Ramsey, the list of 2018 recipients includes several college presidents from the Minnesota State System. Recipients from the state of Minnesota are as follows:    

  • Dr. Kent Hanson, President
    Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Anoka Technical College
  • Dr. Adenuga Atewologun, President
    Riverland Community College
  • Dr. Joyce Ester, President
    Normandale Community College
  • Tim Wynes, President
    Inver Hills Community College

Other recipients include: Dr. José Adames, El Centro College; Dr. Shah Ardalan, Lone Star College; Dr. Michael Ash, Southeastern Community College; Dr. William Austin, Warren County Community College; Dr. Jon Bauer, East Central College; Dr. Barbara Beebe, Western Texas College; Dr. Robert Boehmer, East Georgia State College; Dr. Mark Brainard, Delaware Technical Community College; Dr. Thom Chesney, Brookhaven College; Dr. Paul Dale, Paradise Valley Community College; Mike Elbe, John Wood Community College; Dr. Beatriz Espinoza, Coastal Bend College; Dr. Everette Freeman, Community College of Denver; Dr. Jeff Fox, College of Southern Idaho; Dr. Christine Hammond, Mid Michigan Community College ; Dr. David Harrison, Columbus State Community College; Dr. Stefani Hicswa, Northwest College,; Dr. John Hogan, National Park College; Dr. Peter Jordan, Tarrant County College ; Dr. Jerry King, Trinity Valley Community College; Dr. Ernie Lara, Estrella Mountain Community College; Dr. Joel Lundstrom (Provost), Des Moines Area Community College; Dr. Margaret McMenamin, Union County College; Linda Moley, Coffeyville Community College; Dr. Nicholas Neupauer, Butler County Community College; Dr. Randy Parker, Guilford Technical Community College; Dr. Vicki Riley, West Virginia Northern Community College; Dr. Stephen Thomas, Midland College; Dr. Brent Wallace (Chancellor), North Central Texas College; Dr. Falecia Williams, Valencia College-West Campus; and Dr. Betty Young, Hocking College.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

For more information, visit:

Pictured is Dr. Kent Hanson.

Kent Hanson

Read More News