Masks are required indoors in campus buildings....

College holds induction ceremony for honors students

Anoka Technical College held an induction ceremony March 27, 2014 to welcome new student members to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honors society.

Guest speakers at the event included: Anoka Technical College President, Kent Hanson; past Chapter President of PTK, Noel Lutsey; Information Technology Faculty and former PTK Advisor, Julie Myers; Reading Faculty and PTK Advisor, Pamela Prokop; Librarian and PTK Advisor, Karen Bronshteyn; Student Chapter Vice President, Andrew Wieland; and Student Chapter President of PTK, Teresa Vinje.

Special recognitions went to Myers and Nancy Gale for their past service as advisors; Vinje and Wieland for their designation on the All-Minnesota Academic Team; and Mary Allenson, Vinje and Wieland who received chapter Exemplary Team Leadership award.

Many friends, relatives, faculty and staff attended the ceremony despite difficult travel conditions.

“The induction ceremony provides recognition and information for new PTK members,” said Wieland. “They have worked hard for the grade point average required to join, and their loved ones enjoyed sharing the moment with them as they receive this honor.” 

Phi Theta Kappa is an international organization for two-year colleges.  It provides leadership training and opportunities, encourages scholarship and service learning, and facilitates access to college tuition scholarship opportunities. 

For more information about the student organizations at Anoka Technical College, visit



These Anoka Technical College new student members were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honors society in a ceremony March 27, 2014: (Front from left): Belinda Jolly, Erin Kearn, Jessica Haller, Shirly Wojack, Emily Dingmann, Stacy Robinson; (second row from left):  Lorri Emerson, Santana Orlando, Caitlin Morrill, Jennifer Meyers, Abby Wamsley, Stephanie Saggerson, Jennifer Bracken, Stephanie Gersemehl, Alba Kampa, Brooke Anderson, Danielle Crouse; (third row from left) Third row: Jacob McCabe, Kelli Graleske.  (Photo courtesy of Dennis Westman)

Read More News