Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide
The Anoka Technical College Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide certificate is a five-credit course that introduces concepts of basic human needs, basic nursing and personal care skills, mental health and social needs, restorative services, resident’s rights, and home health.
The skills are performed in a supervised laboratory and long term care clinical setting. The course meets the requirements of the federal government and the Minnesota Board of Nursing.
Upon completion of the competency evaluation, students can be employed in a long-term care facility, hospital or home health agency.
Program Guide - Under Construction
State law requires that any person who provides services that involve direct contact with patients and/or residents at a health care facility have a background study conducted by the state. A student who is disqualified as a result of a background check will not be allowed to enter the program major. A student must receive a “Background Study Clearance” within 90 days preceding the start of clinical or fieldwork courses to be placed at a partnering facility. Any student failing to receive clearance will be disqualified from enrollment in the course. Arrests, charges, or convictions of criminal offenses may cause a student to fail a background study. If a student is disqualified, the student has the right to request reconsideration of the disqualification. It is the responsibility of the student to request consideration by the MN Department of Health Commissioner if he or she chooses to do so. An applicant is considered to be disqualified while in the reconsideration process.
If you have not taken credit classes at Anoka Technical College since July 1, 1996, you must:
- complete an application for admissions
- pay the $20 application fee, and
- provide proof of immunization
See AnokaTech.edu for the required forms.
Register in person or online.
Tuition and Fees
Tuition is $958.60 (includes $10.85 for malpractice insurance and a $20 fee for a background study) and must be paid at time of registration.
Anoka Technical College provides accident insurance.
Tuition and fees are determined at the beginning of each fiscal year and are subject to change.
Upon successful completion of the class, a state test is required to place your name on the Minnesota State Nursing Assistant Registry. Register for course HBHL1000. The test costs $186, payable upon registration.
Also see Books and Supplies
|| Spring 2014
| HLTH 1103 - 02
||February 10 -March 26
Monday through Friday
1:00 p.m. - 4:55 p.m.
| HLTH 1103 - 03
||April 15 - May 15
Monday through Friday
8 a.m. to 12:55 p.m.
| HLTH 1103 - 91
||March 17 - May 5
Arranged. Lectures are online.
Students come to class for lab and clinical.
Mandatory Labs are scheduled on campus from 1:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on the following dates:
3/19, 3/21, 3/26, 3/28, 4/2, 4/4, 4/9, and 4/11
Mandatory Clinicals are scheduled at the clinical site from 4:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
on the following dates: 4/23, 4/25, 4/30, and 5/2
Register early. Class fills quickly.
All Anoka Technical College students must demonstrate basic competency in Math, English, and Reading. Competency may be demonstrated through achieving minimum cut scores in new student assessments (Accuplacer); through other assessment exemptions; or through successful completion of Basic Math, Basic English, and Reading courses, earning a “C” or higher before receiving a diploma or an associate in applied science degree.
Also see graduation standards in Anoka Technical College Student Handbook.
NOTE: Program plans are subject to change. Please contact your program advisor for the most current program information.
Books and Supplies
- Nursing assistant book is available through the Anoka Technical College bookstore.
- Student photo ID card (Cost: $5 payable at the Records/Business Office)
- Black uniforms for the clinical training sites.
- Watch with a second hand and a box of non-latex exam gloves.
Note from the Minnesota Department of Health regarding reimbursable expenses:
Nursing assistants who pay for the cost of their training and testing prior to employment are eligible for reimbursement. The nursing assistant has one (1) year from completion of the test to turn in receipts requesting reimbursement. The facility has 90 days to reimburse the nursing assistant. If the nursing assistant does not remain employed as a nursing assistant for 90 days, the nursing home is under no obligation to reimburse the nursing assistant. The first nursing home the nursing assistant stays at for at least 90 days would then be responsible to reimburse the nursing assistant if it has been one year or less since completion of the test. Only certified nursing homes or boarding care homes are required to reimburse a nursing assistant.
Days/Evenings (class, lab, clinical)